You can now directly mention a user within a doc, previously it was only in a comment. As always Google comes up with features where it saves your time & increases your efficiency.
If another user is specified, for details about them and recommended actions such as adding the person to contacts or reaching out by email, you can toggle over their name. In other Google Workspace applications, such as Gmail or Calendar, this is the same detail you see now while clicking over the name of a person.
Notice that it won't give them a notification once you mention anyone in a document. In addition, if you discuss a person who does not have access to the doc, you will obtain a recommendation for sharing suggestions. You may share or reject the document at that time and use the standard sharing feature of Docs when the time is right.
Once you click @ sign, a dropdown will appear where you can select the user you want.
This feature is available to Essentials, Business Starter, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education, Enterprise for Education, and Nonprofits customers